I or Me? … Me or I?

This morning I heard a person near me say something terrible: “Me and James are going to watch T.V.”

I almost felt like grabbing the speaker by the collar and shouting into his face, ‘No you fool!’ Perhaps I should have; alas, I did not. Yet the speaker has made me feel obliged to write this post.

Today, we live in a society that ‘cannot speak proper’. People get their grammar wrong on a regular basis. So we, the remaining few that care how we sound, need to stand up gor our views. Today I am going to discuss only when to use ‘I’, and when to use ‘me’. I do not mind the way in which people pronounce words, unless the pronunciation is obviously completely wrong, for everyone has a different accent. Anyway, back to the subject of this post.

We use the pronoun ‘I’, when it is the subject of the sentence, the person doing the verb. We use the pronoun ‘me’, when it is the object of the sentence, the person to whom the verb is being done.

Examples:

Tom and I went to the park. (Tom and I are the subject of the sentence, and the verb.)

The train almost hit Tom and me. (Here, it is the object of the sentence and verb.)

A good way to test whether to use ‘I’ or ‘me’, is to block out the other person in the sentence:

Tom and me went to the park. If we block out the other person, we arrive at:
Tom and me went to the park → Me went to the park.
If we say this over in our head, we can easily see that this is wrong.
So, we must use ‘I’: I went to the park. Then we replace the other person in the sentence, and hey presto: Tom and I went to the park. CORRECT!!!

If you want any more practice, I found a wonderful exercise where one decides whether to use ‘I’ or ‘me’ in a sentence. Just click here– a new tab/window will open and the exercise will appear… as if by magic.

So I hope now that you can go out and teach the world how to speak properly!

Leave a Reply

